IUP wins CHMA championship

Image from CHMA Website

S&T Bank Arena, Indiana, PA

Indiana University of Pennsylvania (IUP) has emerged as the CHMA champion after a thrilling performance in the playoffs. The Crimson Hawks entered the playoffs as the #1 seed with a league record of 11-1-0 and an overall record of 22-6-0.

In the semi-final game against Duquesne University, IUP faced an early setback when the Dukes took a 2-0 lead. However, IUP’s Dominick Glavach started the comeback with a goal at the 15:56 mark in the 2nd period, assisted by Shane Miller and Mackenzie Schopfer. This brought IUP back into the game, cutting Duquesne’s lead to just one goal.

In the third period, with Duquesne still leading 2-1, Glavach scored his second goal with just 2:05 remaining, sending the game to overtime.  IUP’s Jace Rearic sealed the deal with an overtime winner, assisted once again by Shane Miller. The win sent the Crimson Hawks to the CHMA Championship, where they faced Robert Morris University.

In the CHMA Championship game, RMU and IUP faced off in a thrilling match up that saw both sides trade powerplay goals in the early stages of the first period. It was RMU who drew on the scoresheet, scoring with just five minutes on the clock. However, IUP quickly responded with a goal of their own just two minutes later courtesy of Jace Rearic, assisted by Dominick Glavach and Shane Miller.

IUP continued to apply the pressure and ended the first period with a commanding 3-1 lead thanks to a goal from Jordan Adams, assisted by Maddox Rearic. The second period saw IUP take control of the game, scoring two quick goals less than a minute apart to extend their lead to 4-1. Maddox Rearic scored IUP’s fourth goal, assisted by Jace Rearic and Shane Miller, before Jordan Adams found the back of the net with an assist from Trent Lunden.

RMU managed to pull one back with their second powerplay goal of the game, cutting the deficit to 4-2 with just under nine minutes remaining in the second period. However, IUP refused to take their foot off the gas and Dominick Glavach scored a powerplay goal three minutes later with an assist from Jace Rearic and Shane Miller.

The third period saw Joey Ditullio score IUP’s sixth goal of the game, effectively sealing the victory for his team. With the final score at 6-2, IUP celebrated their CHMA championship and now prepare for the ACHA National Tournament. 

IUP goaltender Jared Stahel claims his 2nd CHMA championship in his career at IUP.    Stahel faced 64 shots in the 2 CHMA playoff games.  

Team captain Dominick Glavach was awarded the CHMA Playoff MVP award by CHMA Commissioner Dave Fryer.


2023 CHMA Playoff Bracket